Our Algeria, for sisters by sisters

Informations about Algeria

Food Blogger and Future Muhajirah bi-idhniLlah

Leave a comment

dz

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah,

Umm Hamza is the sister and blogger behind HalalHomeCooking. We often share some of her yummy recipes and thought to ask her few questions to share with you all!

Where are you from and where do you live?

Yorkshire, England and currently still residing there.

We know your amazing blog halalhomecooking, why a food blog? 

Alhamdu’lillah, I’ve always had a passion for baking ever since I was a teenager when I did food technology at GCSE leveI. It wasn’t until I got married I learnt how to cook and not only that, but the importance of having such an essential life-skill. In my blog, I share many Algerian or Algerian-inspired recipes in the English language, to help those in a similar position to myself (married to an Algerian) and for those that just like trying different foods. I also share recipes from around the globe because as someone from ‘a can’t cook, won’t cook’ type culture I don’t feel restricted to a particular cuisine now that I can and do cook.

Are you planning to make hijrah to Algeria?

Yes ASAP in shaa Allah

Is there anything you are worried about living in Algeria and what are you looking forward to?

I’m worried about many trivial things but  I’m looking forward to living in a Muslim country where I will be reminded more about Allah and less of the dunya, being part of my husband’s huge family, watching my kids grow up in a halal environment etc.

Do you think you will be able to find all the ingredients you need to make all your mouthwatering recipes in Algeria in shaa Allah?

No, my husband has really educated me about the Algerian food culture and how a lot is based on seasonality, regionality and budget but I do know there are a few supermarkets where I hope to be able to stock up on world ingredients every now and then.

The thing you like most about Algeria?
The people. The ones I’ve met are so friendly, welcoming and always smiling.

Your favourite Algerian dish and your favourite Algerian cake?

This is probably the toughest question!   I’d have to say Mhadjeb although that’s not really a ‘dish’. My favourite sweet Qalb el louz.

Umm Hamza – January 2016

http://www.ouralgeria.wordpress.com

The Our Algeria Team

Leave a Reply

